Renaissance Man

Posted: January 13, 2014 in Thoughts
Tags: , ,

Learn everything you can, anytime you can, from anyone you can, there will always come a time when you will be grateful you did.”

Sarah Caldwell

Remember all that jack of all trades, master of none shit? I’m here to say fuck that. Although in my younger years if something didn’t capture my attention just like that, there was no way I was investing my time in something where I would ask the question every know-it-all adolescent would ask, “Well when would I ever use this in the real world?”. I don’t know, and your teacher defintiely doesn’t know either due to them teaching instead of doing. If they were in the real world they produce something other than an indoctrination we call education. However, the unknown of whether or not I will ever use any of the material I’ve learned over the year is excitingly intriguing. Now I cant wait to learn something new.

In todays world who knows what the hell you might be doing in 5, 10, maybe 20 years that something you learned from some schmuck might come in handy. Need to replace some walls and ceilings? I’ve learned how. Leaky faucet? With five dollars and a run to a department store I can fix that. New wood or tile floors? Easy. In fact I actually really enjoyed my time remodeling my brothers house learning new skills that I know damn well will benefit me when I have my own some day.

The point of this is for us to learn anything from anyone you can. Skills, ideas, tips and tricks, different perspectives, literally anything. Right now I’m going to school for computer science, studying human anatomy and our healing system, strength training, all while indulging in the works of Ralph Waldo Emerson and learning spanish. (learned it in high school, visited Costa Rica and woud love to go back) Now if you know anything about basic economics this goes against one of their rules of specialize and trade…but don’t get me started on economics. You’d be amazed by the amount of people at my university don’t understand the simple concept of economic incentive, but I digress. In this day, go out, learn it all, and become your very own renaissance man.

Comments
  1. […] would like to believe we can learn something from everyone we meet in some shape or form, but at what cost. The crabs in the barrel metaphor rings truer than ever. […]

Leave a Reply

