A Day in the Gym

Posted: June 11, 2014 in Improvement, Lifting
Tags: , , ,

It’s that time of the week and that time of the day again. It’s time to lift. We cannot improve ourselves to the fullest without experiencing the body’s physical potential. I like to cycle through a few different styles of lifting routines, but this is the one a I keep getting drawn back to and is my person favorite. My lifting schedule is a 4 day split with a day of rest in between each day, consisting of a pull, push, legs and a weakness day.

Lift
How it feels when I can convince a girl she won’t get “big” from lifting.

I just so happen to have the smallest traps in the world, as well as a small chest. This leaves me with a set of coconut shoulders. Broad shoulders be damned when you have this imbalance. To try and correct this I have a “weakness” day to work solely on my weak points. Your’s will obviously differ from mine and I’m sure mine will vary along the way as well. I tend to hyper focus on a certain muscle group until im satisfied and proceed to hyperfocus on the next muscle I may have not focused on during all that. An endless cycle of muscle imbalances. However, as annoying as this can be I really don’t mind the process because I love to lift. I could be four foot tall 100 lbs and still be cranking this shit out below.

tumblr_lz8isaNAps1r8hqfro1_500
I’ve been waiting for you too, ❤

Pull day

Snatch → 4 sets of 12, 10, 8, 6
Reverse Grip Pull Ups → 3 sets of 12, 10, 8
Rows → 3 sets of 12, 10, 8
Lat Raises → 3 sets of 12, 10, 8
Z Bar Curl → 3 sets of 12, 10, 8

Push Day

Flat Bench → 4 sets of 12,10,8,6
Overhead Press → 4 sets of 12,10,8,6
Upright Rows → 4 sets of 12,10,8,6
Chest Flys → 3 sets of 12,10,8
Skull Crushers → 3 sets of 12,10,8

Leg Day

Deadlift → 4 sets of 12,10,8,6
Squats → 3 sets of 12,10,8
Abs → 3 sets of rotissaries
Calve Raises → 4 sets of 12,10,8,6

Weakness Day

Subject to vary, but may look something like this.
Dumbell bench → 4 sets of 12,10,8,6
Shrugs → 4 sets of 12,10,8,6
Chest Flys → 4 sets of 12,10,8,6
Upright Rows → 4 sets of 12,10,8,6

Even this schedule of mine will vary from day to day to avoid getting burnt out or stale. To add an extra challenge I do a series of pyramiding my workout by adding 10 pounds with every set so I might not even get to the full 12,10,8,6 leading to an until failure most of the time.

Join the movement.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

